The Grieving Process: Understanding the Stages of Bereavement

Throughout our lives, we all encounter the profound and often agonizing experience of losing someone or something dear to us. Whether it’s the death of a family member, a beloved friend, a treasured pet or the loss of a job or relationship, grief is a natural response to loss. 

Understanding the stages of bereavement and learning how to cope with these feelings can provide essential guidance on navigating the complex and sometimes overwhelming journey toward healing and acceptance.

Stages of Grief

Grief is a complex emotion that can encompass many stages. It is an important part of the bereavement process and is a natural response to loss. These distinct emotions may be experienced in any order or combination and have been described as a rollercoaster of emotions. 


In the initial stage of grief, it’s common to deny the reality of the loss. This protective mechanism serves as a buffer, allowing individuals to gradually absorb the profound impact of their loss. This phase can create a temporary emotional shield, softening the initial blow of the tragedy and providing time to process it.


As the initial shock begins to wane, the pain of the loss becomes more tangible. It’s not unusual for anger to surface as a natural response to the feeling of helplessness or the perception of being unfairly treated by the loss. This stage can encompass many emotions, from irritation to deep-seated resentment.


During the bargaining stage, individuals may attempt to negotiate with a higher power, fate or even with the person they’ve lost. It’s a phase where they express regrets and often wish to change the circumstances that led to the loss. This stage is characterized by a desire to turn back time or prevent the loss from occurring in the first place.


The depression stage involves a profound sense of sorrow and mourning. People in this stage often experience overwhelming sadness and a feeling of hopelessness. They may withdraw from social activities and isolate themselves from their support networks. It’s crucial to understand that this stage is a natural part of the grieving process and should not be hurried.


In the final stage of the grief process, individuals come to terms with the reality of the loss. They find ways to move forward with their lives, understanding that the loss is irreversible. Acceptance does not mean forgetting or forsaking the memory of what or who has been lost, but rather, it involves a sense of calmness, resolution and closure.

Coping with Grief

1. Allow Yourself to Grieve

Grief is a deeply personal and unique experience. Allowing yourself to grieve in your own way, without judgment, is essential. Understand that there is no specific timeline for the process, which varies from person to person. Give yourself permission to feel the pain and emotions associated with your loss.

2. Seek Support

You don’t have to navigate the grieving process alone. Reach out to friends, family or support groups who can provide emotional assistance and understanding. Sharing your feelings and experiences with others who have endured similar challenges can offer validation, reassurance and a sense of belonging during this difficult time.

3. Professional Help

In some cases, professional help may be beneficial. Grief counselors, therapists or psychologists can provide guidance and support, equipping you with the tools to process your grief effectively. Professional assistance can be particularly helpful if you are stuck in one stage of grief for an extended period.

4. Self-Care

Take care of your physical and emotional well-being. Ensure you get adequate rest, maintain a balanced diet and exercise regularly. Engaging in activities that bring you joy can help counteract the impact of grief. Self-care routines, such as meditation, mindfulness or journaling, can also provide solace during the healing process.

5. Memorialize and Remember

Honoring the memory of the person or thing you’ve lost can be a meaningful part of the healing journey. This might involve creating a memorial, keeping a journal or participating in activities celebrating the person’s life or the significance of what you’ve lost.


The grieving process is a challenging and deeply personal journey, but understanding its stages can provide insight and guidance during a difficult time. Remember that healing is possible if you or someone you know is grappling with grief. You can navigate the complex terrain of bereavement by allowing yourself to grieve, seeking support, considering professional help, practicing self-care and finding ways to remember and memorialize your loss.

If you or someone you know is struggling with grief, please don’t hesitate to contact Jonas Hill for professional guidance and support. Our experienced team is dedicated to providing the care and assistance you need to navigate the grieving process and find your way toward healing and acceptance. 

Jonas Hill Hospital & Clinic, a division of Caldwell Memorial Hospital, provides our community with safe, dignified, and integrated care for patients experiencing acute mental health needs. We provide hope, treatment, and healing through a holistic program of evidence-based psychiatric treatment, team-based medical care, and education by engaging and dedicated professionals in a safe and healing environment. Contact us today for more information—a safe space to heal.